Creating an Inclusive Environment

The LabyrinthThe Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology is committed to a providing an inclusive and respectful working environment. Our dedication to diversity, equity and inclusion is exemplified by the people we hire and the culture we create. We believe everyone plays a role in creating a safe and welcoming environment, and we do not tolerate any form of harassment, discrimination, or racism. We expect the highest standards of professional and personal behavior from all members of our community – faculty, postdocs, students and staff.

Resources

We do not tolerate discrimination or harassment in any form. If you experience or witness any harassment or discrimination, or have a concern about the behavior of any member in our department, you have a number of options for reporting your concerns:

  • Contact your mentor or supervisor.
  • Fill out this PCB Whistleblower Form to anonymously contact the PCB Chair.
  • Contact any of the following members of the PCB Department:

Colin Duckett
Interim Chair, Vice Dean for Basic Research
colin.duckett@duke.edu        

David MacAlpine
Pharmacology DGS
david.macalpine@duke.edu

Ann Marie Pendergast
Molecular Cancer Biology DGS
ann.pendergast@duke.edu     

Jamie Baize-Smith
Pharmacology/MCB DGSA
baize@duke.edu                                

James Alvarez
PCB Diversity & Inclusion Liaison
james.alvarez@duke.edu                   

Sarah Goetz                          
PCB Women in Science mentor        
sarah.c.goetz@duke.edu                       
  

  • Contact any of the following people outside of the PCB Department:

Johnna Frierson         
Assistant Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Diversity & Inclusion;
Director, IDEALS Office
Johnna.frierson@duke.edu

Beth Sullivan
Associate Dean for Research Training
beth.sullivan@duke.edu        

  • Contact the Duke Office of Institutional Equity (OIE). OIE is the office responsible for responding to complaints of discrimination, harassment and sexual misconduct at Duke. The OIE website has detailed information for how to file a complaint or report an incident.

Jean Spaulding, M.D.
School of Medicine Ombudsperson
Email: ombudsman@mc.duke.edu

Ada Gregory
Undergraduate Student Ombudsperson
Office of Interdisciplinary Programs
ada.gregory@duke.edu

  • The Graduate School also has a comprehensive guide to resources for reporting discrimination, harassment, and sexual misconduct.

The PCB Diversity & Inclusion Committee is committed to supporting trainees while providing opportunities to learn and improve upon our mission. Want to support our dedication to a safe and inclusive environment that we can all thrive in? Do you have ideas for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion initiatives you’d like the PCB department to implement? We’d love to hear from you! Contact us by emailing James Alvarez.